India’s Chief Minister

India’s Chief Minister

India is the world largest democracy and has 29 states and 7 union territories. Each state has its own administrative head called the Chief Minister.

Chief Minister’s Role

Chief Minister is the head of the council of Ministers in the state, according to the Indian Constitution. However, the Governor is the head of the state but Chief Minister has the powers to govern the state even if it is not recognised by the official laws. The Indian Constitution follows the Westminster Model of Constitution democracy, in which the Governor is the ceremonial head but the Chief Minister is the real head of the state. Duties of the Chief Minister is to look after the day-today administration tasks of the states. The Chief Minister is assisted by the council of ministers such as Cabinet Ministers, deputy ministers and many others.

Powers and Authority of the Chief Minister

The duties of the Chief Minister in the state is exactly like the duties and powers of the Prime Minister of India but in the restricted jurisdiction of a state. Some duties of the Chief Minister are given below.

    • Powers of the Chief Minister is to communicate with the Governor for the working of various organisations of the government as he is the link between the Governor and the council of Ministers.
  • Powers of the Chief Minister is to form council of ministers from the members of his party for working within the state. The council of ministers chosen by the Chief Minister is called the Cabinet. In this Cabinet, various department such as transport, communication, health departments are allotted to various ministers in the Cabinet. Chief Minister has the powers to remove the ministers if they are not performing up to his /her standards.
    • Powers of Chief Minister is to plan financial budget for economic growth and infrastructural growth in the state.
  • Chief minister regularly communicates to the citizens of his state through periodic press conference to aware of the functioning and development in the state.

With  the council of ministers, all the important decision are made by the Chief Minister of the state. The infrastructural development, technological development and the social economic development is handled by the Chief Minister of the state.

Eligibility criteria

For the post of Chief Minister, following is eligibility criteria set by the Constitution of India.

    • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
    • Candidate must be the member of state Legislature. However if he/she is not a member of legislature then he/she should must take sign from the Governor.
  • Candidate must be at least 25 years of age.

Chief Minister’s salary

The Chief Minister’s salary varies from state to state in India. The Chief Minister of the state is provided various facilities and allowances such as tax free allowance and constituency allowance besides the basic salary. The state legislature decides the salary of Chief Minister of state as per the Constitution of India Article 164.

Facilities given to the Chief Minister

The facilities given to Chief Minister varies from state to state. Some of the given facilities are listed below.

  • Residential facilities  

The chief Minister of the state is given a well-furnished house which is rent free. If Chief Minister wants to stay in his own house then rent of the house is paid according to the value.

  • Medical facility

Chief Minister can avail free medical facility in any government hospital or government referral hospitals .

  • Traveling facility

According to the Article 164 of the Indian Constitution ,Chief Minister is  allotted a fixed amounts of money for travelling expenses within the jurisdiction of the country in the year. Chief Minister ‘s family members are also allotted some amount for free travelling in the year.

  • Reimbursement of electricity and phone charges.

How the Chief Minister is elected?

The Chief Minister is not elected directly by the people of the state according to the Westminster model of the parliamentary system. The representatives from the Vidhan Sabha are elected by the people. These representatives are from various political parties, the representatives from the majority party choose the Chief Minister among them. However, the appointing authority is the Governor who is the nominal head of the state.  The Governor can dissolve or terminate the Chief Minister if the majority party lose the vote of confidence in the state legislative assembly.

Term of office and Retirement Age

When the state legislative assembly is dissolved after 5 years, new Vidhan Sabha elections  held and the tenure of the Chief Minister is for five years. Chief Minister can be terminated before the duration of five years by the Governor when alliance lose the vote of confidence in the legislative assembly. Although, Chief Minister can also resign before the five years duration if he/she wishes to. There is no retirement age for the Chief Minister.

Pension provided to the Chief Minister

After the retirement the Chief  Minister, he/she is provided with certain amount of pension according to the Constitution of India. The pension’s amount may vary from one state to another.

List of Chief Minister in the states of India

S.No. State Chief Ministers Took Office Party
1 Andhra Pradesh N.Chandrababu Naidu 8 Jun 2014 Telugu Desam Party
2 Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu July 17, 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Assam Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Bihar Nitish Kumar 22 Feb 2015 Janata Dal (United)
5 Chhattisgarh Raman Singh 7 Dec 2003 Bharatiya Janata Party
6 Delhi Arvind Kejriwal 14 Feb 2015 Aam Aadmi Party
7 Goa Manohar Parrikar 14 Mar 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
8 Gujarat Vijay Rupani 7 Aug 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
9 Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar 26 Oct 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
10 Himachal Pradesh Jai Ram Thakur 27 Dec 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
11 Jammu and Kashmir Vacant
12 Jharkhand Raghubar Das 28 Dec 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
13 Karnataka H. D. Kumaraswamy 23 May 2018 Janata Dal (Secular)
14 Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan 25 May 2016 CPM
15 Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chauhan 29 Nov 2005 Bharatiya Janata Party
16 Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis 31 Oct 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
17 Manipur Nongthombam Biren Singh 15 Mar 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
18 Meghalaya Conrad Sangma 06 March 2018 National People’s Party
19 Mizoram Pu Lalthanhawla 7 Dec 2008 Indian National Congress
20 Nagaland Neiphiu Rio 06 March 2018 Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
21 Odisha Naveen Patnaik 5 Mar 2000 Biju Janata Dal
22 Puducherry (UT) Shri V. Narayanasamy 06 June 2016 Indian National Congress
23 Punjab Captain Amarinder Singh 16 Mar 2017 Indian National Congress
24 Rajasthan Vasundhara Raje 13 Dec 2013 Bharatiya Janata Party
25 Sikkim Pawan Kumar Chamling 12 Dec 1994 Sikkim Democratic Front
26 Tamil Nadu Edappadi K. Palaniswami 16 Feb 2017 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
27 Telangana K Chandrasekhar Rao 2 Jun 2014 Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS)
28 Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb 09 Mar 2018 Bharatiya Janata Party
29 Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath Mar 19, 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
30 Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala Mar 18, 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
31 West Bengal Mamata Banerjee 27 May 2016 All India Trinamool Congress

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *