Indian State Elections

Indian State Elections

On this State election page, one can find all the information regarding several governments and their tenures, about all the Chief ministers and the allotted seats to Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and Legislative Assembly.

Chief Ministers of All Indian States

.S.No. House/State Current CM Tenure PC Seats AC Seats RS Seats
1 Andhra Pradesh Chandrababu Naidu(TDP) Jun 8, 2014 – Present 25 175 11
2 Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu(BJP) July 17, 2016 – Present 2 60 1
3 Assam Sarbananda Sonowal(BJP) May 24, 2016 – Present 14 126 7
4 Bihar Nitish Kumar(JD(U)) Feb 22, 2015 – Present 40 243 16
5 Chhattisgarh Dr. Raman Singh(BJP) Dec 07, 2003 – Present 11 90 5
6 Delhi Arvind Kejriwal(AAP) Feb 14, 2015 – Present 7 70 3
7 Goa Manohar Parrikar (BJP) Mar 14, 2017 – Present 2 40 1
8 Gujarat Vijay Rupani(BJP) Aug 07, 2013 – Present 26 182 11
9 Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar(BJP) Oct 26, 2014 – Present 10 90 5
10 Himachal Pradesh Jai Ram Thakur (BJP) Dec 27, 2017 – Present 4 68 3
11 Jammu and Kashmir Mufti Mohammad Sayeed(JKNC) April 04, 2016 – Present 6 87 4
12 Jharkhand Raghubar Das(BJP) Dec 28, 2014 – Present 14 81 6
13 Karnataka B S Yeddyurappa(BJP) May 17, 2018 – May 19, 2018 28 224 12
14 Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan(CPM) May 25, 2016 – Present 20 140 9
15 Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chauhan(BJP) Nov 29, 2005 – Present 29 230 11
16 Maharashtra Devendra Gangadhar Fadnavis(BJP) Oct 31, 2014 – Present 48 288 19
17 Manipur Nongthombam Biren Singh (BJP) Mar 15, 2017 – Present 2 60 1
18 Meghalaya Conrad Sangma(NPP) March 06, 2018 – Present 2 60 1
19 Mizoram Pu Lalthanhawla(INC) Dec 7, 2008 – Present 1 40 1
20 Nagaland Neiphiu Rio(NDP) March 08, 2017 – Present 1 60 1
21 Odissa Naveen Patnaik(BJD) March 05, 2000 – Present 21 147 10
22 Pondicherry Shri V. Narayanasamy(INC) June 06, 2016 – Present 1 30 1
23 Punjab Captain Amarinder Singh (INC) Mar 16, 2017 – Present 13 117 7
24 Rajasthan Smt. Vasundhara Scindia Raje(BJP) Dec 13, 2013 – Present 25 200 10
25 Sikkim Pawan Kumar Chamling(SDF) Dec 12, 1994 – Present 1 32 1
26 Tamil Nadu Edappadi K. Palaniswami(AIADMK) Feb 16, 2017 – Present 39 234 18
27 Telangana K. Chandrasekhar Rao(TRS) June 02, 2014 – Present 17 119 7
28 Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb(BJP) Mar 09, 2018 – Present 2 60 1
29 Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath (BJP) Mar 19, 2017 – Present 80 403 31
30 Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala (BJP) Mar 18, 2017 – Present 5 70 3
31 West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee(AITMC) May 27, 2016 – Present 42 294 16

State election commission

After the declaration of 73rd and 74th amendment to the Constitution of India, the State Election Commission was organised. To provide economic and social justice for the common people, local bodies are appointed to create democratic administration. The State Election Commission of every state is given the authority  of superintendence , control and direction to conduct the electoral rolls. The state Election Commission is also authorized for elections to the rural and urban local bodies such as City Municipal Corporation ,City Corporation, Town Municipal Corporation, City Municipal Corporation ,Zila Panchayats, Taluk Panchayats and Gram Panchayats. According to the state Acts and Rules, each state conducts the election to local bodies accordingly.

In the state Election of India, self government bodies, district election officers for Panchayat election, officers for the election of municipality, district municipal election and the city election officers for the elections of municipal corporation are appointed for the state election to do various activities. According to the directions of the Supreme court of India, where the elected law is inadequate to deal with any given situation in the conduct of election ,the election commission has residual powers to function properly under the Constitution. State Election Commission also has the same power.

Municipal Corporation

Municipal Corporation is a local governing body. Municipality in India is also known as Mahanagar Nigams or Mahanagar Palikas. Functions of Municipal Corporation is to build roads, public hospitals, sewage system, to build schools for primary students, maintenance of the public streets and parks, providing sanitary conditions to the town’s , to maintenance cleanliness in the town and many more public related services.

Sources of income of Municipal Corporation comes from the taxes on houses, maintenance charges such as tax on houses and  tax on vehicles which are paid by the local residents and grants given by the government of the state. Municipal Corporation’s members are directly elected for the term if five years by people. Seats are also reserved for SC, ST and women.

India’s Panchayati Raj

A three-tier system under the Panchayati Raj of India consists of Block level (Janpad), Gram Panchayat (Village) and Zila (Parishad).

Block (Janpad) Level

Block level is an intermediate structure which includes 20 to 60 villages. A Panchayat Samiti is also there at block level. It includes :

    • Approximately 20 members (which are nominated by Panchs of all the Panchayats).
    • Two people who have experience of  administration and public life.
    • One SC and one ST female members respectively.
  • Pradhan, who is elected by Samiti members, is the chairman of Panchayat Samiti and the Panchayat Samiti’s tenure is five years.

Functions of Samiti

It coordinates, all the Panchayat’s work which comes in jurisdiction. When State government approved the plans, Samiti makes sure for thee implementation of those plans. The main work of Samiti is to keep an eye on development work.

Gram Panchayats (Village)

We have discussed about the three- tier structure above. Gram Panchayat is the basic unit of this structure. People of village or the villagers directly elect the village’s representatives. It works as an village’s executive body. Those people who are registered voters and not having any office of profit under government, are applicable for electing the Panchayat’s election. Any person with criminal record is not eligible for contesting in elections. There is a Sarpanch in Panchayat, who is the elected chairman.


There are many functions performed by the Village Panchayat. Some of them are maintenance of schools, wells, public health, roads, libraries etc. Panchayat also solves the problems of villagers and disputes among them. It maintains the records of all the births and deaths in village. Village Panchayat also takes measures to encourage the agriculture, cottage industry etc.

Zila Parishad

Zila Parishad is a three level system. Zila Parishad is different in each and every state. Zila Parishad is for the period of 5 years that is elected by the electoral . Zila Parishad can have maximum 75 members and minimum 50 members. Deputy Commissioner is also the member of Zila Parishad. CEO is the head of the Zila Parishad. SC, ST and women have reserved seats in Zila Parishad.

Functions of Zila Parishad is to construct roads, Hospital for Public health and care, schools for primary students and many public related services. Functions of Zila Parishad also includes to look after all development related works and to also encourage the local industries such as joint co-operative movements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *