Indian General Election, 2009 ( 15th Lok Sabha)

Indian General Election 2009

Prime Minister’s Second Innings (15th Lok Sabha Election)

In 2009, world was struggling with global recession. India was also facing major economic challenges. And then there came 15th Lok Sabha elections. The Indian general election,2009 for the 15th Lok Sabha was held from 16th April, 2009 to 13th May, 2009 in five phases. 272 seats were needed for the majority in Lok Sabha from 543 seats. 

In the Indian general election,2009, the ‘United Progressive Alliance’ (UPA), the alliance of the Congress was able to form the government and Manmohan Singh became the Prime Minister once again. Manmohan Singh was the only Prime Minister after Jawaharlal Nehru to elected as the Prime Minister after completing five years duration period of the Lok Sabha. UPA which was formed by the congress, got majority of seats with results in Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh.

In previous Lok Sabha, which was governed by the UPA, the economy was conducted really well. The alliance with other parties with Congress was very smooth which helped in the favour of the Congress in the Indian general election,2009. Bharatiya Janata Party under the leadership of Lal Krishna Advani didn’t have that fame and charm as the congress had.

Third  Front

Before the 15th Lok Sabha election, the third Front was formed by the CPI(M). In this front mostly parties were the regional parties who were the part of United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

Fourth Front

Before the Indian general election,2009, political parties like Lok Jana Shakti Party, Samajwadi Party and the Rashtriya Janata Dal together had seats sharing  with the Congress in which they failed and decided to form a new front. They desired to be the kingmakers after the 15th Lok Sabha election. Despite of declaring it, they continued to declare their support towards the UPA.


Bharatiya Janata Party won 116 seats with voting share of 27% in Indian general election, 2009. BJP lost nearly 22 seats in Maharashtra and Rajasthan. CPM also lost many seats in West Bengal and Kerala as well, in 15th Lok Sabha election. Congress won 206 seats and voting share of 27% . UPA won 260 seats with an outstanding performance in states like Rajasthan, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal in Indian general election, 2009.  Samajwadi Party won 23 seats and Bahujan Samaj Party won 21 seats in 15th Lok Sabha election. In the Indian general election, 2009, Shiv Sena won 11 seats, Janata DAL (United) voting share  of 2% with 20 seats. All India Trinamool Congress won 19 seats and Dravida Munnetra kazhagan (DMK) won 18 seats.

Some facts of the Indian general election, 2009

  • 8070 candidates participated in the 15th Lok Sabha election.
  • Voting population was 71.7% in the year 2009.
  • 84.6% candidates lost their deposits in the Indian general election,2009
  • Electoral participation was 59.7%
  • In 15th Lok Sabha election, there were 828,804 polling stations around the country with 1,368,480 voting machines.
  • In the Indian general election,2009,  there were 714 million electorate, this was more than the electorate Of the United States of America and United Kingdom together.
  • Meira Kumar was the speaker in the 15th Lok Sabha.


Indian General Election, 2009 ( 15th Lok Sabha)
Article Name
Indian General Election, 2009 ( 15th Lok Sabha)
Indian General Elections 2009,known as 15th lok sabha elections,held to elect the members of 15th lok sabha, which result in prime minister second innings
Publisher Name
My India My Vote
Publisher Logo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *