Indian General Election, 2004 (14th Lok Sabha)

General Elections 2004

Formation of United Progressive Alliance

In year 2004, NDA Government completed its five years duration period and then it was the time for the Indian general election,2004. The 14th Lok Sabha election was held in four phases from 20th April, 2004 to 10th May, 2004. On 20th April the election was held for 141 constituencies, on 26th April Lok Sabha election was held for 137 constituencies, on 5th May for 83 constituencies and on 10th may for the remaining 182 constituencies. 273 seats were needed for the majority in 14th Lok Sabha election from 543 seats.

The Congress Party won 145 seats. Congress formed the government by uniting a grand alliance called the United Progressive Alliance (UPA ) and Manmohan Singh became the Prime Ministers of India for the 14th Lok Sabha.


Congress under the leadership of Sonia Gandhi campaigned in many parts of India primarily on poor and undeveloped class voters. Bharatiya Janata Party proved service records like strong industrial growth, lower inflation rate, development of the Indian highways and roads but was struggling with its alliance with the other parties such as DMK and AIADMK. In the pre poll analysis, BJP was assumed as the biggest party in the Indian general election, 2004.

Formation of the government

The Congress Party won 145 and was able to form alliance with parties such as Rashtriya Janata Dal, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, DMK, Lok Janashakti Party and many more and also got out-side support from Samajwadi Party, Left Front and Bahujan Samaj Party. This alliance was called the United Progressive Alliance. The Congress President Sonia Gandhi denied for becoming Prime Minister, instead made Manmohan Singh the Prime Minister of the 14th Lok Sabha. Manmohan Singh was former finance minister and intelligent economist .


In the Indian general election,2004,  Bharatiya Janata party won 138 seats with 27% voting share. BJP lost seats in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh. In Andhra Pradesh, BJP was unable to win any seat in 14th Lok Sabha election.

JDU also performed poorly in Bihar. BJP as the part of the alliance called the NDA, although it had out-side support from regional parties like All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagan of Tamil Nadu and the Telugu Desam Party of Andhra Pradesh. Bahujan Samaj Party won 19 seats in Indian general election, 2004 whereas Samajwadi Party won 36 seats with 4% voting share. Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won 24 seats in 14th Lok Sabha election.

Parties like Communist Party of India (Marxist) won 43 seats in Indian general election, 2004. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagan won 16 seats, Shiv Sena won 12 seats and Biju Janata Dal won 11 seats in 14th Lok Sabha election.

Some facts of the Indian general election,2004

  • 5435 candidates participated in the 14th Lok Sabha election.
  • 77.6% candidates lost their deposits in the election.
  • The electoral participation was 58% in the Indian general election,2004
  • In the 14th Lok Sabha election, voting population was 67.1 crores.
  • The Indian general election,2004 was conducted by T.S Krishnamurthy, the Chief Election Commissioner.
  • 224 state parties and 6 national parties participated in the 14th Lok Sabha election.

Somnath Chatterjee was the speaker in 14th Lok Sabha .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *