Indian General Election, 1998 (12th Lok sabha)

Indian General Elections 1998

Elections With No Results (12th Lok Sabha Election)

India’s last Lok Sabha elections were dissolved in 2 years as there were internal disputes amongst the United Front so it was time for the Indian general election,1998 for the 12th Lok Sabha. The 12th Lok sabha elections were held on 16th, 22nd and 28th February 1998. 273 seats were required for the majority from 545 seats. None of the parties was unable to win the majority in Indian general election ,1998.

Bharatiya Janata party under the leadership of Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee emerged as the largest party by winning 182 seats. In the 12th Lok Sabha election, Bharatiya Janata Party was able to form a huge alliance with 14 parties like Samata Party, Biju Akali Dal, Trinamool Congress, AIADMK, APMK, Shiv Sena and the MDMK together with 286 seats. Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the Prime Minister of India.

Bharatiya Janata Party and its alliance government were not able to last for more than 13 months. The All Indian Anna Dravida Munnetra kazhagam withdrew its 18 seat support. This resulted in vote-of-confidence in the Parliament. Bharatiya Janata Party lost it by only one vote. Jayalalitha refused to support, that was the reason for the government’s downfall in the Indian general election,1998. President of India, Shri K.R. Narayanan invited the Indian National Congress to form the government. Congress denied that they were unable to form the government. So, President K.R Narayanan dissolved the 12th Lok Sabha house.


Bharatiya Janata Party ( BJP) won 182 seats with the voting share of 25.59 %. BJP gained seats in Uttar Pradesh. In Gujarat, BJP won 19 seats and in Madhya Pradesh, BJP won 30 seats in the 12th Lok Sabha election. Congress under the leadership of Sitaram Kesari, won 141 seats. In Maharashtra, Congress party won 31 seats. In Orissa, Congress won only 4 seats and in Madhya Pradesh, Congress party won 10 seats. In Bihar, Congress won 4 seats. Sonia Gandhi, wife of Rajiv Gandhi, won two seats from Bellary in Karnataka and Amethi in Uttar Pradesh respectively in the Indian general election,1998. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) won 32 seats with voting share of 5.4% in 12th Lok Sabha election.

Samajwadi Party won 20 seats and voting share was 4.93%. All India Dravida Munnetra Kazhagan party won 18 seats and Rashtriya Janata Dal won 17 seats.

Some facts about the Indian general election,1998

  • In the 12th Lok Sabha election, 4750 candidates participated with 8.75 per constituency.
  • Voting population in Indian general election, 1998, was 60.6 crores.
  • 73.3% candidates lost their deposits in the 12th Lok Sabha election.
  • 60.1% voting was done in the Indian general election,1998.
  • Ganti Mohana Chandra Balayogi was the speaker of the 12th Lok Sabha.
  • S. Gopalan was the secretary general of the12th Lok Sabha.
  • Padanatha Mohammed Sayeed was deputy speaker of Lok Sabha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *