Indian General Election, 1984 (8th Lok Sabha)

Landslide Victory of Congress (8th Lok Sabha Election)

The year 1984 was an eventful year that changed the Indian political history. In this year, Prime Minister of India Mrs Indira Gandhi was assassinated. After her demise, Indian general election were held on 24th,27th and 28th December, 1984 for 8th Lok Sabha Election.

Congress won the Indian general election, 1984 under the leadership of Rajiv Gandhi by winning 414 seats out of 533 seats. This record of 414 seats in the 8th Lok Sabha election is the best performance by the Indian National Congress party, which hasn’t been broken by any other party till date. The main reason for the success of Congress party  in Indian general election, 1984 was the Indira Gandhi’s assassination which gave sympathy to Rajiv Gandhi from the voters resulting by winning the 8th Lok Sabha election. 27 state and 7 national parties contested for 542 seats in Indian general election, 1984. 267 seats were needed for the majority from all 533 seats in 8th Lok Sabha election.

In June 1984, Indira Gandhi held an army’s operation called the “Operation Blue Star” at the Golden temple in Amritsar, Punjab. The reason for this operation was the internal violence and terror in parts of Punjab. Many Sikhs were joining the Khalistan movement and to stop this movement, Indira Gandhi started the ‘Operation Blue Star’ which damaged some portion of the Akal Takht and that  resulted in massive casualities of the Sikh pilgrims.

After this incident, Sikhs were angered towards Indira Gandhi. The intelligence bureau warned Indira Gandhi about the threat from the Sikh community but she denied this and wanted to reinforce her image in Sikh community. But unfortunately, on 31st October, India’s 3rd Prime Minister, Indira Gandhi was assassinated at her Safdarjung Road, New Delhi residence by her Sikh bodyguards Satwant Singh and Beant Singh. This resulted in extreme violence among the people and thousands of innocent Sikhs were killed in these internal riots.  After Indira Gandhi’s assassination, Rajiv Gandhi became the Prime Minister of India at a very young age.

Congress party won the 8th Lok Sabha election with the huge majority of 414 seats and voting percentage of 49%. The second largest party in the Indian general election, 1984 from southern India’s state of Andhra Pradesh was Telugu Desam Party under the leadership of N.T Rama Rao won 30 seats. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) debuted in Indian general election, 1984 and won 2 seats with the voting percentage of 7.74%. Janata party won 10 seats with voting share of 6.89% in 8th Lok Sabha election. Lok Dal with voting share of 7% won 3 seats. Communist Party Of India (Marxist) won 22 seats with 5.8% voting share. And Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagan won 12 seats.

Some facts of the Indian general election, 1984:

    • Due to internal disputes and riots the Indian general election, 1984 were delayed in Assam and Punjab.
  • Voting percentage was 61.05 %  in 8th Lok Sabha election.
  • 80% Candidates lost their deposits in Indian general election, 1984.
  • 5312 Candidates participated with an average of 10.3 per constituency.
    • Congress, however, won the 8th Lok Sabha election but lost in Punjab to Shiromani Akal Dal .
  • Balram Jakhar was the speaker of the 8th Lok Sabha election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *